Posted in Uncategorized

Teach Me

Psalm 61-2

Today has been quite the day. A wonderful missionary family (my “Budapest family”) lost a dear friend today–a teenager. Another close family friend had brain surgery today. A couple that I follow through a blog welcomed their baby girl into the world this past weekend, only to release her into the arms of Jesus a few short hours later.

(Sidenote: And here I am stressing about an upcoming anatomy lab practical. Sometimes I get so mad at myself for what I worry about.)

No matter who you are, your life is full of disappointments and stress. That’s never going to change. Whether it’s an exam, a relationship, or something like what I listed above, the stress will always come. The hardships never go away. And the hardships have purpose (see songs below). So we’ve got to learn to deal with it. I don’t know much, but I know there’s no way I could survive without Jesus. And when life gets stressful and hectic, that’s when I need Him the most. 

“I have been driven many times to my knees by the overwhelming conviction that I had nowhere else to go.” -Abraham Lincoln

“God is God. Because He is God, He is worthy of my trust and obedience. I will find rest nowhere but in His holy will that is unspeakably beyond my largest notions of what He is up to.” -Elisabeth Elliot

“There is nothing–no circumstance, no trouble, no testing–that can ever touch me until, first of all, it has gone past God and past Christ right through to me.  If it has come that far, it has come with a great purpose, which I may not understand at the moment.  But as I refuse to become panicky, as I lift up my eyes to Him and accept it as coming from the throne of God for some great purpose of blessing to my own heart, no sorrow will ever disturb me, no circumstance will cause me to fret, for I shall rest in the joy of what my Lord is–that is the rest of victory!” -Alan Redpath

“Being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus!…Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus…
And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” -Phil. 1:6; 4:6-7; 4:19

Jesus, teach me in the stressful times that You are peace.

Teach me in the anxious moments that You are in control.

Teach me in the unfair circumstances that You redeem injustice; remind me of the cross.

Teach me in the quiet times that You are at work.

Teach me in the chaotic times that You speak through the noise.

Teach me in the scary times that You are faithful.

Teach me in the uncertainty that You are constant.

Jesus, teach me to trust You more. 

To love You more.

To worship You more.

To seek You more.

To desire You more.

To run to You more.

Jesus, teach me to see You for who You are.

In the ups and downs, the good times and the bad, remind me that You never change.

And Jesus, teach me to be more like You.

God’s grace in my life today:

I received the most encouraging email this morning. What a reminder that my God is overseeing every detail of my life and orchestrating a song far greater than any tune I hum.

Let these songs be an encouragement to you.

Leave a Reply

