Posted in Uncategorized

The Office

538415_10151060018839748_1616177061_n

And the Dundie for Best Series Finale ever goes to…

The Office

The Office

The show was extraordinary because of its ordinariness. 

I love watching TV shows and movies, and my favorites are the ones that seem realistic.

The realistic ones are the ordinary ones, like The Office.

There’s just something about watching ordinary things happen to ordinary characters…it makes me realize how beautiful an ordinary life can be.

scott

The finale hit home for many reasons:

1) I love the show, stories, and characters

2) It’s how my brother and I got even closer. When my family got robbed in Europe, we lost our laptops (aka any access to TV that wasn’t in German). Before we left for Europe, one of brother’s friends had given him a hard drive with all the current seasons of The Office (this was back in 2009)…so that’s what we watched. We got super invested in the show and even when we came back and I started college, he and I would watch the show together. When he moved away for college, we’d watch the show separately and then talk/text about it. Then he’d come home and we’d re-watch episodes. I’m so glad we watched it together last night. It was an extremely “ordinary” time, but it will be one of my favorite memories of spending time with him…because it was so ordinary. Thanks for waiting until I got home from band practice to watch it with me, bro. Love you.

3) Everything they said about transitions and life in general…man, it hit home! I actually cried! But then I got online and saw that I wasn’t alone in crying 🙂 Always good to know that!

Anyway, here are some of the best quotes from last night:

nup_151640_2026-17d11752b7bab875899701f23545d9e9aab6ed94-s6-c10Jim: “Even if I didn’t love every minute of it, everything I have I owe to this job. This stupid, wonderful, boring, amazing job.”

Pam: “There’s a lot of beauty in ordinary things. Isn’t that kind of the point?”

Jim: “You can’t be anything but happy on your wedding day.”

Pam: “It’s like a long book that you never want to end. And you’re fine with that, because you just never ever want to leave it.”

Pam: “Jim was five feet from my desk, and it took me four years to get to him. It’d be great if people saw this documentary and learned from my mistakes.”

Pam: “It would just make my heart soar if someone out there saw this, and she said to herself, be strong, trust yourself, love yourself, conquer your fears, just go after what you want. And act fast, because life just isn’t that long.”

kev

Jim: “She pays me back every day, just by being my wife.”

Kevin: If you film anybody long enough, they’re going to do something stupid. It’s only human natural.

rainn_wilson_the_office

Dwight: Do I get along with my co-workers? First of all, I don’t have co-workers anymore. I have subordinates. So, have I gotten along with my subordinates. Let’s see. My supplier relations rep, Meredith Palmer, is the only person I know who knows how to properly headbang to Motorhead. Oscar Martinez, my accountant, is now godfather to my son. Angela Schrute, my former accountant, is now my wife. My top salesman, Jim Halpert, was best man at my wedding. And office administrator, Pamela 

Beasely Halpert, is my best friend. So yes, I’d say I have gotten along with my 

andy-the-office-audition

subordinates.

 

Andy: I wish there was a way to know you’re in the good old days before you’ve actually left them. Someone should write a song about that.

The last one hit home because it’s something I try to do every day: remember that today will one day be the good old days. No matter what’s happening right now, one day you will look back and remember this as the good old days. 
Love this show!
To end this sappy post, here’s three videos:
Love tho show!
The song Creed sang (All the Faces, an original written by his band!):
Love this show!
The song Andy sang (cover of I Will Remember You): 
Love this show!
The song used in the promos for the finale of The Office (I Lived by OneRepublic): 
Love this show!
God’s grace in my life today:
Because of Him, every day is good.
One thought on “The Office

Leave a Reply

