Posted in Uncategorized

Med School Acceptance


3f8358a3fa286b2295e9ac429fa1604e

So. As of 1 hour ago today, I’m done with the med school application/interview process.

By the grace of God alone, I’ve been accepted to 3 medical schools:

-my state school

-a slightly more southern school (at least compared to where I live)

-a northern private school (i.e. MORE snow)

All 3 are amazing schools and I’m extremely blessed and thankful that they accepted me.

So, let me me give you a heads up on what needs to happen in the next few weeks/months. 

I need to decide which school I want to choose by May 15.

However, one school has offered me a fellowship. Don’t know what that is? That’s ok, I had no idea either! Basically, this fellowship will give me a stipend (which would cover housing costs and food…so living costs would be free) and will pay my grad school tuition (for a dual degree…so the Masters degree will be covered). Their deadline is in early April. Meaning I should probably pick my med school by then. 

I’ve got lots to think about before making my decision, so I really appreciate your prayers! All 3 schools have pros/cons, so I need wisdom for sure. I’m confident God will lead me and provide that wisdom. 

He is faithful.

Ok, now that we’ve got the announcements out of the way…

It’s pretty surreal to be accepted to 3 med schools. It was surreal to be accepted to just 1.

I mean, I’ve wanted to be a pediatrician since I was 5. 

And now I’m accepted to med school. 

You know the whole “What do you want to be when you grow up?” question that every kid gets multiple times? I feel like it’s pretty rare that people stick with the same answer and actually go do it. Maybe that’s because interests change, reality kicks in, etc. But I’m so blessed. God is letting me fulfill that dream. In fact, He’s sustained that dream when I wanted to give up (multiple times…). I guess I’m just a little bit in awe…ok, a lot in awe. I can’t get over the fact that I’m actually going to fulfill the dream.

He is faithful.

With all the decisions on the horizon and the stress/exhaustion/frustration/etc. that comes with med school, I want to remember this feeling. I want to remember my gratitude in this moment. My dream gets to come true because God gave me these desires and sustained them. He is good and He does good.

He is faithful.

Before I continue, I just want to clarify one thing: I’m definitely not saying that following Jesus means only success and easy days. No, quite the contrary. Following Jesus means trusting/praising Him in the hard and easy days, knowing that my eternity is secure, and knowing Him is greater than any earthly success. He is the reward. He is the prize. He is the treasure. So when the hard times come, we rely on Him. We trust Him. We believe in Him. We surrender to Him.

He is faithful.

Most of y’all don’t know this, but I had a bunch of setbacks! It was NOT easy getting here. My faith was questioned, my competency was undermined, my enthusiasm was squelched, my intelligence was doubted, my dream was mocked. But you guys, through it all…God was fighting for me.

He is faithful.

When people told me it’s not wise to pursue higher education if I want to be a wife and mother, God gave me confidence that where He leads, He will provide. When people questioned/mocked my faith, God gave me assurance and the faith to believe His Word and His promises. When people doubted/undermined my ability to get into med school, God gave me the strength to keep pushing on…and gave my parents strength to encourage and put up with me!

He is faithful.

Anyway, more on this later. But I just want to remind you guys:

My Jesus never lets me down.

(“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” -Deut. 31:6)

He is faithful.

“If we are faithless, He will remain faithful, for He cannot disown Himself.” 

-2 Tim. 2:13

He fights on our behalf when we can’t.

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

-Ex. 14:14

And He wins. 

“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.”

-Rev. 22:13

He is faithful.

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever!

Amen.

-Eph. 3:20-21

He is faithful.

God’s grace in my life:

He gave me the dream and He’s guiding me to fulfill it.

This reminds me that He gives us desires with a purpose.

(and I believe in faith that one day I will tell you about how He fulfills my desire to be a godly wife and mother)

3 thoughts on “Med School Acceptance

  1. My mom has reminded me on multiple occasions that even when we are living out our childhood dreams, the road is not easy. There are constant challenges and disappointments and failures. But God is faithful through it all. The verse of the year I selected for my homeroom class is similar to the Deut one you put up: Joshua 1:9 ~ “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” I often quote this to them and tie it in to our daily devotionals to encourage them. I hope that it encourages you as well.

Leave a Reply

