Posted in Uncategorized

Everybody’s Watching Somebody

That title sounds sorta creeperish, no?

Actually, I know this guy from Starbucks who legit watches people.

Technically I don’t know him…I’ve just observed him watching people.

So I guess that makes me a creeper by default…

Anyway…

You’re impacting someone.

You may be impacting them positively or negatively, but you’re definitely impacting someone.

Everybody watches somebody.

What do people see when they watch you?

I pray and hope that I can be the kind of person who reflects Jesus.

So when people watch me, they’ll see Him through me.

Here’s a letter I recently sent to someone who impacted me. 

You never know what an impact you can have on someone’s life!

(Just fyi, I’ve changed some names for anonymity)

Dr. Nelms,

You probably don’t remember me. The last time we saw each other, I was around 7 years old and seeing you for a check-up. When my family was living in Texas, you were our pediatrician.

I still remember how sweet you were to my brother and me. Every time our parents brought us in, you would kiss our foreheads and jokingly ask my parents if you can take us home. If I’m remembering correctly, you used to have Christian children’s books in the waiting room and little bears hanging from your stethoscope. From what my parents have told me, you were extremely sought after as a pediatrician and that doesn’t surprise me at all. I have fond memories of our visits to the doctor’s office because of your kindness.

You must be wondering why on earth I’m writing to you. Well, I doubt you knew this, but I really looked up to you as a child. You’re the first person who inspired me to become a physician—specifically, a pediatrician. You’re the reason my answer to the “what do you want to be when you grow up” question was “a pediatrician.”

Even after we moved, I held on to that answer. I wanted to be just like you when I grew up and help other kids actually enjoy their visits to the doctor. In fact, my senior year of high school, I applied for a scholarship through Med School X and during the interview, I was asked about this Dr. Nelms that I mentioned in my essay. My interviewers wanted to know if you were a close family friend or relative since you had such an impact on me. I told them you were simply my pediatrician and childhood hero. They were surprised at what an impact you had, especially since I was so young at the time.

Well, now it’s about 4 years later since that interview and I’ll be graduating college this May. I’m blessed to say that I’ve been accepted into Med School X. I’m so thankful to Jesus and Med School X for this opportunity and grateful to my family and all the people who have helped along the way. As I was sending out thank-you letters to various faculty and physicians who wrote me recommendation letters, I realized that I should be thanking you. All of these other people have helped me achieve my goal, but you’re the one who first sparked my passion for medicine. It’s amazing to me that you had such an impact without even realizing it. My mom suggested I send you a letter and let you know.

I want to sincerely thank you from the bottom of my heart for doing your job with excellence and inspiring me in the process. You’ve already cared for the health of so many children and I’m sure they and their parents are very grateful. On behalf of my family and me, I want to say thank you for your hard work and your joy and excellence in the midst of that hard work. You’ve made an impact on my life and I hope and pray that I can do the same for another child one day.

I’d like to travel to underprivileged areas locally and around the world to share the love of Jesus Christ and care for the medical needs of the community. I will work hard during medical school and do my best to succeed. And one day, “when I grow up,” I pray that I will be a pediatrician who cares for my patients and their families like you did for us, Dr. Nelms.

Thank you.

-me

God’s grace in my life today:

 He sovereignly gave me a pediatrician who inspired me and He has kept that inspiration going in my heart.

He’s given me the wisdom to know that no pursuit will ever bring full satisfaction. 

Only Jesus can fully satisfy my heart. 

But praise be to God for the passions He’s placed in my heart that also bring me gladness!

One thought on “Everybody’s Watching Somebody

  1. Rosh:
    So true….we need to do our best to live and shine for Jesus always! Thanks for the inspirational reminder!
    Love you,
    Dad.

Leave a Reply

