Posted in Uncategorized

I blame you, Dad

I blame you, Dad.

I blame you for teaching me from a young age that the most important thing in my life is my relationship with Christ.

I blame you for making me yearn to be a prayer warrior each morning when I see you praying on your knees.

I blame you for making me picky when it comes to boys.

Because of you, I won’t settle for “just” any guy. 

Because of you, my standards have been set pretty high.

Because of you, I expect my future husband to seek and love God above anyone and anything else, to lead me the way you lead mom, to love our children the way you love RS and me, to do his best to support and provide for our family the way you work hard to support this family, to have patience when I am moody the way you are patient when I am unpleasant, to take everything to God in prayer the way you always do yourself and remind me to do the same, and to love me for who I am the way you have always loved me.

I blame you for my love of learning.

I blame you for my tendency to hold my tongue rather than lash out in anger.

I blame you for my love of music.

I blame you for my analytical mind.

I blame you for my ACT score and MCAT score because of all the practice books you bought me to study and tests you had me take.

I blame you for the fact that one day I will likely have the letters “MD” after my name.

I blame you for instilling Romans 8:28 in my head.

I blame you for living a life which convinces me that you believe Romans 8:28 in your heart.

I blame you for who I am today.

Without your love, guidance, patience, wisdom, encouragement, and discipline, I wouldn’t be who I am.

I know I still have a lot to work on, and I know you’ll continue to be there for me.

So Daddy, not only do I blame you for who I am today, but I also thank God for who you are today.

You are the best father a daughter could ever want, and I’m so proud to call you my daddy (even though RS makes fun of me for still saying that 🙂 )

Thank you for everything you have done, are doing, and will continue to do.

Your life has impacted me and will continue to impact me in many ways!

Most importantly, thank you for loving Jesus so boldly and passionately.

You may never fully know the impact that your love for Him has had on our lives, but know this: we’ve been watching.

I love you and I can’t wait to celebrate Father’s Day with you at P.F. Chang’s!

I love you daddy!

Since I know you love music as much as me, here are two songs that remind me of you. I know I’ve probably played them for you before, but take a look at the lyrics anyway 🙂 You can click on the title of the song to hear it as you read, if you want.

I love you, dad!

“She Was Watching”

He always called her daddy’s little girl
She was four years old
Waiting by the door to run into his arms
Each time that he came home

And every night he tucked her in and read to her in bed
When she’d fall asleep he’d close his eyes and gently bow his head

[Chorus]
But she was watching
Her daddy praying
And thought someday I wanna be like that
She was watchin what he was saying
And the way he bowed his head
And though she can’t recall the prayer
She was watching

Late one evening he was coming home from work
He called to say he’d lost his job
And after dinner they excused their baby girl
She knew they had to talk

But from inside her bedroom
She could hear them down the hall
They were dancing in the kitchen as momma sang his favorite
Song

[Chorus]
She was watching
As they were dancing
And thought someday I wanna be like that
She was watching
Her momma singing
As they were dancing hand in hand
And though she can’t recall the song
She was watching

Faith can’t be taught
It’s just something that is caught along the way
No faith is never taught
It’s just something that they catch from watching you along the way

He always called her daddy’s little girl
But now she’s twenty-three
He walks her down the aisle to give away his world
Oh but he can hardly speak
And when he kisses her goodbye he tries to hold it in
But as he turns away she pulls him close and whispers in his ear

I was watching
And I’ve been waiting
And finally found someone just like you
I was watching
My whole life praying
For God to see it through

And as he kissed her one last time
He said a prayer and closed his eyes
And she was watching

I love you, dad!

“The One You Need”

Hey hey sweet daughter
I’m so proud to be your father
Each day is like a gift from God

Hey hey sweet daughter
There’s no music like your laughter
And your smile is like the rising sun

You know I loved you from the start
So come in close
Take my hand while
Daddy shares his heart

I wish that I could be your everything
Be the one to give you all the things you need
Sometimes I’m gonna let you down
But there’s Someone if you just believe
He’ll be your hero like He’s always been for me
Darling, Jesus is the one you need

No matter what you walk through
He will always love you
Just the way you are
For there’s nothing in this world
That I want for my baby girl
Than to be happy ever after

The story of your life is still untold
I pray the King of all the Universe
Would make your heart His home

I wish that I could be your everything
Be the one to give you all the things you need
Sometimes I’m gonna let you down
But there’s Someone if you just believe
He’ll be your hero like He’s always been for me
Darling, Jesus is the one

Who will never leave
He’s been there all along
Oh when you’re ready you can find true love

I wish that I could be your everything
Be the one to give you all the things you need
Sometimes I’m gonna let you down
But there’s Someone if you just believe
Be your hero like He’s always been for me
Darling, Jesus is the one you need

I love you, dad! 

I love you, dad!

God’s grace in my life today:

I know my Dad well enough to know that he would say all of the above are blessings from God and that I should be thanking God rather than him. So today I’m thankful that God would give me this man to raise me as his daughter. A lot of kids have a bad view of their Heavenly Father because of their earthly father. However, I’ve been blessed with a dad who always points me to Jesus. All I can say is, if my earthly dad is this great, I can’t even begin to fathom the greatness of my Heavenly Father!

One thought on “I blame you, Dad

Leave a Reply

