Posted in Uncategorized

Remember, lest you forget

I was reading this morning in 1 Samuel 8. In this chapter, the Israelites decide they want a king so they can be like all the other nations. Samuel is displeased with this request and brings it before the Lord. Verses 7-8 say:

“And the Lord told him: “Listen to all that the people are saying to you; it is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me as their king. As they have done from the day I brought them up out of Egypt until this day, forsaking me and serving other gods, so they are doing to you.

As I read that, those words really hit me. Over and over again, God had been good to the Israelites. He had brought them out of Egypt. Parted the water so they could cross the Red Sea. Closed the water behind them so their enemies could not catch them. Provided food from heaven. And so on and so on. Yet the people constantly rejected Him and turned to other gods to satisfy their needs. 

They didn’t remember what He had already done, so they didn’t trust Him with what they needed Him to do.

God has been so good to me. He’s given me amazing parents. He’s blessed me with the funniest guy ever as my brother. He has come through for me time and time again. He’s had His hand on my life in obvious ways. Yet I am so easily distracted and allow the doubts to creep in.

I don’t remember what He has already done, so I don’t trust Him with what I need Him to do.

I will trust You

When I don’t actively remember the times He’s shown Himself faithful, I forget that He will be faithful in this too.

When I don’t actively remember the times He’s protected me by not giving me what I want, I forget that hearing my wise Lord say “no” is a gift rather than a punishment. 

When I don’t actively remember that He’s drawn me closer through Himself through times of blessing and times of loneliness, I forget to thank Him for every season of life.

I will trust You, Lord

But when I remember that His promises never fail, I can cling to His Word and have hope.

When I remember that He answers prayers beyond my wildest dreams, I can dream big and know He is capable of exceeding my expectations.

When I remember that He is always with me, I can go through life with the joy and peace He brings and have confidence in His sovereignty.

I will trust You

When I remember what He has already done, I can trust Him to do what I need Him to do.

I will trust You, Lord

Lest I’m tempted to forget
I’ll tie Your love around my neck
I’ll write Your words upon my heart
Lord, I won’t forget how good You are
I’ll dwell upon Your faithfulness
I’ll rest within Your promises
And when I’m walking through the dark
Lord, I won’t forget how good You are

I will trust
I will trust You
I will trust you, Lord, with all my heart
And I won’t forget how good you are
No, I won’t forget how good You are

You gave me everything I have
And my whole life is in Your hands
When what I fear is closing in
Lord, Your faithfulness will never end
You’re faithfulness will never end

I will trust
I will trust You
I will trust you, Lord, with all my heart
And I won’t forget how good you are
No, I won’t forget how good You are

And even in the darkness
Even in the questions
Even when the hardest times of life are at hand
Even in the darkness
Even in the questions
Even in the times that I’m not meant to understand

I will trust
I will trust You
I will trust You, Lord, with all my heart
And I won’t forget how good You are
No, I won’t forget how good You are

-“Trust” by Matt Hammitt

I will trust You

God’s grace in my life today:

He is patient with me when I doubt and never ceases to lovingly remind me to trust Him at all times.

Leave a Reply

