Posted in Uncategorized

Theological Discussions

Took a break from blogging this past weekend.

Some friends came over Saturday night:

Spoons, Kemps, and theological discussions.

Every time I have a theological discussion, I always get antsy about halfway through.

I like discussing those things. 

I like being challenged. 

But sometimes I feel like we’re missing the point.

Yes, good theology is important.

You’ve got to know what you believe in order to live it out.

But arguing endlessly on topics that aren’t crystal clear in the Bible?

 I think there are better things to do. 

And by “better” I mean “more important.”

“God will not hold us responsible to understand the mysteries of election, predestination, and the divine sovereignty. The best and safest way to deal with these truths is to raise our eyes to God and in deepest reverence say, ‘O Lord, Thou knowest.’ Those things belong to the deep and mysterious profound of God’s omniscience. Prying into them may make theologians, but it will never make saints.”

-A.W. Tozer, The Pursuit of God

 “Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life. He does not come into judgment, but has passed from death to life.”

 -John 5:24
 
And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.”
-Matthew 28:18-20 

 What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.

But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works. You believe that God is one; you do well. Even the demons believe—and shudder! Do you want to be shown, you foolish person, that faith apart from works is useless? Was not Abraham our father justified by works when he offered up his son Isaac on the altar? You see that faith was active along with his works, and faith was completed by his works; and the Scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness”—and he was called a friend of God. You see that a person is justified by works and not by faith alone. And in the same way was not also Rahab the prostitute justified by works when she received the messengers and sent them out by another way? For as the body apart from the spirit is dead, so also faith apart from works is dead.

-James 2:14-26

So, fine, let’s discuss. But remember: “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work” (2 Timothy 3:16-17). The Bible is meant to spur us into action, not to be used as evidence to win an argument. 

Maybe instead of debating theology, we should be talking about how to live it out…and then go do it!

As my pastor always says: 

Keep the main thing the main thing.

God’s grace in my life today:

I am saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone.

And I have the oblitunity to obey His commands.

 

 

Leave a Reply

