Posted in Uncategorized

MCAT

I got my MCAT score today.

God is so good. 

As I’d been praying about the score, I vowed to the Lord that I would bless Him no matter what the score.

“Father, I know You’re glorified when Your people suffer well, but could this be one of those times that You choose to bring me victory so that Your Name is lifted up? Prove (I don’t mean that in an arrogant way) that You are greater than all other gods and that You love to bless Your children. Above all, I want You to receive the glory. My life is in Your hands…the score passed through Your hands.”

-excerpt from my journal entry last night

God is so good.

And today I can echo Hannah’s words, 

“The Lord hears and grants me what I ask of Him.”

-1 Sam. 1:27

God is so good

I want to say upfront: God deserves all the glory here.

Apart from Him, I can do nothing. (John 15:5)

But through Him, I can do all things. (Phil. 4:13)

It is purely the grace of my Lord Jesus Christ that I got this score.

God is good.

For those of you who were praying for me:

Thank you!! Our God answers the prayers of His people!

God is good.

For those of you who don’t know Jesus as your Lord and Savior:

My God answers prayers and He walks with me through every trial. I can boast in my weaknesses because His strength is displayed when I’m weak. He is faithful to the end. There is no one like Him. He loved me enough to die for me. Did you get that? GOD sent His Son JESUS to DIE for me. I don’t have to work to earn my salvation. I could never earn salvation. Being a “good” person can’t restore my relationship with a holy God. I am saved by grace alone through faith alone in Christ alone. I’m living in the aftermath of my heart being transformed by grace. My life is not my own: I belong to Him. And there is so much freedom and sweet relief in knowing that my life belongs to the one and only sovereign God. Contact me if you want more information on this.

God is good!

For those of you who were wondering about how the MCAT score works, or what the MCAT is:

The MCAT is like the ACT or SAT for med school. You take the ACT/SAT to get into college; you take the MCAT to get into med school. Obviously there are other factors that go into that decision as well, but the MCAT score is pretty important since it puts all applicants on a level playing field. 

The MCAT has 3 sections:

Physical Sciences (physics and general chemistry)–52 questions, 70 minutes, max score of 15

Verbal Reasoning–40 questions, 60 minutes, max score of 15

Writing portion (tests the ability to formulate and communicate an argument and convey complex ideas)–2 essays, 30 minutes for each, scored on a scale of J-T

Biological Sciences (biology and organic chemistry)–52 questions, 70 minutes, max score of 15

So the highest score possible is a 45T.

Which is more or less impossible 🙂

A competitive score is 30P.

If you get something close to that, you should get in somewhere because you’re considered to be a competitive applicant.

My score: 32R.

Like I said, God is SO good.

I’m amazed at how He blesses me.

Next step: applying to medical school. 🙂

Yay!

God’s grace in my life today:

He blessed me with a good MCAT score.

And with such great friends and family who prayed on my behalf and were thinking of me!

Thank You, Lord!!!

Thank You, family and friends!!!

Special shout-out to my parents for the encouragement, prayers, and love!!!

And my study buddy, Houston.

Leave a Reply

