Posted in Uncategorized

Hannah

Started 1 Samuel today. 

Hannah has always been one of my favorite Bible characters.

Growing up, I loved reading her story because I liked how God came to her rescue and blessed her with her heart’s desire.

I sometimes overlook that God is glorified by blessing us, just like He’s glorified by allowing us to suffer.

When we’re blessed, we get to say: “Only my God gives undeserved blessings like that.”

When trials come, we get to say: “Only my God walks with me and never leaves my side.”

Either way, what an awesome God.

I tend to focus more on the “Lord, let me suffer well.”

(Which is a bit odd, considering I’ve not gone through any tremendous struggle)

But reading Hannah’s story again today reminded me to handle blessings well.

She wanted a baby so badly, yet the Lord had chosen to close her womb.

First of all, I LOVE that she took her struggles to Him.

“In bitterness of soul Hannah wept much and prayed to the Lord.”

-1 Sam. 1:10

“…I am a woman who is deeply troubled…I was pouring out my soul to the Lord…I have been praying here out of my great anguish and grief.”

-1 Sam. 1:15-16

Her problems drove her TO Him rather than away.

Secondly, I love that she wants to give the blessing back to glorify the Lord.

“And she made a vow, saying, ‘O Lord Almighty, if You will only look upon Your servant’s misery and remember me, and not forget Your servant but give her a son, then I will give him to the Lord for all the days of his life, and no razor will ever be used on his head.”

-1 Sam. 1:11

I don’t consider this bribing. To me, bribing means: “I’ll give you something you want to convince you to give me something I want.” But Hannah wants a son and promises to give that son right back to the Lord. 

“Early the next morning they arose and worshiped before the Lord and then went back to their home at Ramah. Elkanah lay with Hannah his wife, and the Lord remembered her. So in the course of time Hannah conceived and gave birth to a son. She named him Samuel, saying ‘Because I asked the Lord for him.'”

-1 Sam. 1:19-20

My Lord remembers His people.

He hears my prayers.

He blesses. He provides. 

My Lord is faithful.

He is faithful to the end. 

And btw, Hannah kept her promise.

“And she said to him, ‘As surely as you live, my lord, I am the woman who stood here beside you praying to the Lord. I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him. So now I give him to the Lord. For his whole life he will be given over to the Lord.‘ And he worshiped the Lord there.”

-1 Sam. 1:26-28 

Lord, be glorified.

Be glorified and please grant me victory.

God’s grace in my life today:

Yet another great reminder of His faithfulness as I read about Hannah!

He’s helping me with my goal of becoming more like Mary, and less like Martha 🙂

Leave a Reply

