Posted in Family

Happy Mother’s Day

The Wife of Noble Character

Proverbs 31

10A wife of noble character who can find?
    She is worth far more than rubies.

According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, “noble” means “possessing outstanding qualities.” The simple fact that I’m so familiar with this particular dictionary is because of my mom–she spent hours helping me study for the Spelling Bee and helped me navigate the MW website as I prepared. My mom is definitely a woman of outstanding character. She gives of herself to the point of making us wonder how she has anything left to give. She spends so much time pouring into our lives and into the lives of her friends. She’s always receiving phone calls from people asking her to pray because they know she will. I’ve never once questioned my mom’s integrity or character. She isn’t perfect, but she’s also the first to admit that fact. She makes mistakes, but she’s quick to ask for forgiveness.

I love you, mom!
11 Her husband has full confidence in her
    and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
    all the days of her life.

I am 100% confident that my dad would agree with those statements. He doesn’t have to question mom’s motives because he knows she’s always seeking to honor God by serving her husband. To this day, I have never heard my mom say a single bad thing about my dad to anyone. She loves my dad so much and has been such an example to me of what a submissive wife looks like. Anyone who knows my mom knows that she’s quite outspoken and opinionated. Growing up as her daughter, I’ve been so encouraged to see how her relationship with Jesus affects her relationship with my dad. She respects my dad and is always on his side. She voices her opinions, but leaves the ultimate decision to him and willingly supports his decision. She always has meals prepared and even if she’s had a crazy long day, she will give my dad her full attention when he comes home from work. I’ve never wondered if she loves my dad (and I doubt dad has either) because she proves it with her actions every single day.

I love you, mom!
13 She selects wool and flax
    and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
    bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still dark;
    she provides food for her family
    and portions for her servant girls.

When Mom has a goal, she puts her mind to it and accomplishes it. Whether that goal is surprising one of us with our favorite meal, planning a party, bringing a meal to someone else, volunteering at a pro-life center, helping out at church, redecorating our home, or anything else…she does it with eagerness and excellence. We don’t have servant girls ;), but mom provides food and love for her family and for so many others. She has often gotten up while it is still dark to spend time in prayer before starting her day. Every Saturday morning, she wakes up around 4:30am to head out to a Bible Study Fellowship leaders meeting that is about an hour away from our house. She gathers with the other leaders as they sing, go over the lesson, and spend time praying on their knees. Throughout the week, she contacts the women in her small group and encourages them, prays for them, and keeps them accountable. My mom is amazingly dedicated and diligent to do whatever the Lord calls her to do. And she will be the first to tell you that she can’t do any of it on her own: she is wholly dependent on His strength and His grace. Mom proves to me every single day that God gives strength to the weary and that His grace is sufficient.

I love you, mom!
16 She considers a field and buys it;
    out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
    and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
    and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor
    and extends her hands to the needy.

Mom takes seriously her responsibility of being a steward of God’s money. She has never been an extravagant spender. In a day and age where so many women are known for their outrageous purchases and crazy shopping sprees, my mom strives to spend her money wisely. She should seriously consider becoming a personal shopper for people because she rocks at finding bargains. I love when mom comes home from stores and shows/models the various purchases, grinning as she tells me the original price, what it was on sale for, and how much she saved. I love that she’s so careful with where she spends her money. Because of their wise spending, my parents are able to give extravagantly to so many ministries that help the helpless. Mom is also super smart. She is a jack (jill?) of all trades…she never ceases to amaze me with her stubbornness to figure things out herself and come up with solutions to difficult problems.

I love you, mom!
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
    for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
    she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
    where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
    and supplies the merchants with sashes.

Mom is always calm when it matters. In Europe, when our stuff got stolen, my mom was the one who remained totally calm. We lost material things that day, but she lost the opportunity for our whole family to spend time with her side of the family in Dubai. She was so excited to go and surprise her mom…and then we got robbed at the Vienna train station before boarding the train that would have taken us to the airport to catch our flight to Dubai. She should have been the most upset out of all of us at that minute. But she wasn’t. She was the one who thought clearly and reminded us that God is in control. She was the one who found the police station so we could report the incident. She was the one who constantly sought God’s strength for herself so she could be a beacon of hope to her family. That’s just one example. Mom is the first person I go to when something is wrong, because I know she’ll calm me down. Whether that’s me being a paranoid pre-med student convinced that I have whatever disease I happened to research online, or whether it’s my brother calling to say his professor gave him an unfair grade, or my dad sharing his struggles…mom has this nature about her that is just so calming. I know it’s the Spirit of God living within her. She gives wise advice. Just this past week, I told her: “Mom, I don’t agree with you. And I don’t understand your perspective in this situation. But I believe that you are wiser than me and I trust you, so I’ll take your advice.” I wouldn’t say that to just anyone, but I know that mom is always looking out for my best and she earnestly seeks the Lord and listens to His voice.

I love you, mom!
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
    she can laugh at the days to come.

My mom is the strongest woman I know. She has been betrayed and hurt by people, yet she stays strong in her faith. She has her times of doubt, but she brings those doubts to God. Both her dignity and strength are a direct result of her relationship with Jesus. She spends time reading the Word of God and praying to Him…and the effects of those hours spent with Him are evident by the way she carries herself and lives her life. Mom LOVES to laugh. I think that’s one reason why she loves having my brother home from college. He’s the funniest person I know and she loves spending time with him and doubling over laughing at his antics. She loves teasing my dad about his corny jokes and she always knows how to cheer us up. The future doesn’t scare my mom because she knows Who holds her future and she trusts Him completely. She laughs over our past memories, laughs while we make memories, and laughs as she joyfully dreams about what great things God has in store for each of us.

I love you, mom!
26 She speaks with wisdom,
    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

Although this wasn’t always fun for me growing up, my mom speaks wisely and instructs us whenever we need it (which was…a lot…). Like I said above, I think my parents are SO wise because they both spend so much time with God. It’s logical: the more time you spend with someone, the more you become like them. The hours they spend with God are evident in the ways they are like Him. Mom gives advice to my dad, my brother, me, her friends, my friends, and basically anyone else who asks! I’ve had so many friends come over who will later tell me “oh my gosh. I LOVE your mom! You guys seem so close and I loved talking to her!” I’ve realized how rare it is to have a good, godly mom these days. And I’m so blessed that my mom calls me out when I’m wrong, encourages me when I’m down, gives me advice when I’m confused, and most importantly, points me to Christ at all times.

I love you, mom!
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
    and does not eat the bread of idleness.

I think it’s pretty obvious by this point that my mom is certainly not lazy. She’s always running around doing stuff for us and for others. Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever be able to run my home as efficiently as she runs hers. I also wonder if she’s part superhero or something, because it’s crazy how much she does in so little time! It’s truly amazing.

I love you, mom!
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
    her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
    but you surpass them all.”

I think I can speak for my brother and me by saying:

“Many women are great moms,
but you surpass them all.

I love you, mom!
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

My mom is both charming and beautiful, but even more importantly, she loves the Lord with all her heart, soul, and mind. She literally gave up everything to follow Jesus. She adores Him. I’ve yet to see her get through the whole hymn “And Can It Be?” without having tears streaming down her face as she marvels at the amazing love of God. My mom has taught me so much, but I know that the lesson she values most is the one she lives out in front of us every day. John Piper says it best:

God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.

Mom has instilled in me that my relationship with God is the most important relationship in my life. I wouldn’t know about God’s grace in my life if she and dad hadn’t spent so much time teaching me about Him. The fact that I can call this beautiful woman of God my mother is one of the biggest evidences of God’s grace in my undeserving life. I don’t deserve to be in this family. I don’t deserve to be her daughter. But I am so thankful that God sent me as my parents’ first miracle baby after they spent 8 years of marriage praying for a child. I came into this world as the answer to their prayer request. And I am constantly humbled and eternally grateful that God gave me a family that surpasses any request I could have ever prayed.

I love you, mom!
31 Give her the reward she has earned,
    and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

Mom, you deserve a standing ovation every minute of every day for all the things you’ve done for us and continue to do. I’ll be forever grateful for you. I’m sorry that we don’t thank you enough or acknowledge your hard work nearly as often as we should. But know that I love you so much. Happy Mother’s Day! You’re the best mom, amazing example of a godly wife, such a loving woman, one of my best friends, and a beautiful example of how God can transform an ordinary life into an extraordinary testimony of His grace.

I love you, Mom

God’s grace in my life today:

I don’t deserve my mom.

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

