Posted in Family

God is good

My close friend spent the day here and it was SO good to catch up with her.

It had been so long since we’d last seen each other!

We talked about what God has been teaching each of us and then spent an insane amount of time looking at music for her wedding.

In the afternoon, my family found out that some dear friends from Texas were in Chicago for a college reunion, so they ended up swinging by!

Such a treat to see them and visit with them!

How I miss my Texas.

At least I’ve got Houston with me 🙂

Texas friends left to head back to their home, my parents left for a Bible study, and my brother went out with a friend.

I stayed home with my dog (typical) and my friend…that’s when the search for the wedding music started.

Then I found out that my grandma (technically my great-aunt since she’s my paternal grandma’s sister, but we’ve always called her “grandma” b/c my dad’s mom went to be with Jesus before we could meet her) is being taken to the hospital with kidney failure and starting dialysis. 

She’s a famous doctor in New York (retired now) so it’s sad to see that a woman who helped so many people with their health must now suffer with poor health.

But God is still good even when the situation seems bad. 

I hope we get to go to NY and visit soon and I’m going to be praying that this will draw her to Jesus in a more real and intimate way.

He is so good to me.

God’s grace in my life:

Mrs. B (one of our Texas friends) asked about the boy in my life today and I felt a little disappointed that I couldn’t talk about what a great guy I’m dating or what an amazing fiancĂ© I have. And then I started pitying myself. But God’s grace stopped me in my pity party and reminded me that even though I can’t go on and on about the wonderful guy in my life, I have so much to say about the amazing Lord of my life. He has been so good to me. I’ve never been in love, but I’ve also never had my heart broken. My heart has always belonged to Him alone…and He has never failed me and never will. I’m so thankful for that. I have faith that one day, I will be able to joyfully share about the godly man that God has brought into my life. A man that is determined to always love Jesus more than He loves me and desires for me to love Jesus more than I love him. But until then and even then, I want to be fully satisfied in Jesus. He’s everything to me. And I could (and will) go on and on about Him for all eternity.

Leave a Reply

