Posted in Uncategorized

Lamentations 3

I read this passage in the morning:

19 I remember my affliction and my wandering, 
   the bitterness and the gall. 
20 I well remember them, 
   and my soul is downcast within me. 
21 Yet this I call to mind 
   and therefore I have hope:
22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, 

   for his compassions never fail. 
23 They are new every morning; 
   great is your faithfulness. 
24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion; 
   therefore I will wait for him.” 25 The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, 
   to the one who seeks him; 
26 it is good to wait quietly 
   for the salvation of the LORD. 
27 It is good for a man to bear the yoke 
   while he is young.

 -Lamentations 3:19-27
I will wait. 
I love that passage. One of my favorite things that I got out of it today was verse 24:
“I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.'”
I will wait.
How often do we say that? Instead, aren’t we usually quicker to resort to self-pity or self-motivation? 
“This sucks. Why me? I don’t deserve this.”
“I can do this. I am strong. I am woman (or man)…hear me ROAR!”
 I will wait
What a different attitude is presented in this passage. Rather than pitying ourselves because of whatever loss/problem we’ve encountered, we can rejoice that the Lord is our portion. Everything else in this world may be taken away, but it doesn’t matter because my portion can never be taken away. Nothing can separate me from the love of Christ (Rom. 8:38-39).
I will wait.
And since the Lord is our portion, rather than rushing to find a quick-fix for the problem, we can relax and wait on Him. My God has a plan for the world and loves me enough to let me be part of that plan. So why do I worry when something goes wrong? In the eloquent words of Alan Redpath,
“There is nothing–no circumstance, no trouble, no testing–that can ever touch me until, first of all, it has gone past God and past Christ right through to me.  If it has come that far, it has come with a great purpose, which I may not understand at the moment.  But as I refuse to become panicky, as I lift up my eyes to Him and accept it as coming from the throne of God for some great purpose of blessing to my own heart, no sorrow will ever disturb me, no circumstance will cause me to fret, for I shall rest in the joy of what my Lord is–that is the rest of victory!”
I will wait
My desire is to have a heart that consistently says: “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.”
No matter what the circumstance: the LORD is my portion.
No matter what the problem: I will wait for Him.
 I will wait.

God’s grace in my life today:

He is giving me peace and strength!

What a faithful God.

Leave a Reply

