Posted in Uncategorized

Obama, Chandler, Crowder, Piper

“I started it, I’ll be faithful to finish it. 

Don’t give up.

Keep walking.

Keep pressing in.

Keep confessing.

But don’t give up.”

God is good

Today has has been slightly stressful, for various reasons. And on top of that, I just realized that my Bible (which I have been looking for since I got back from my trip this weekend) was left in the church I went to on my trip…2 hours away. Maybe it’s a little oxymoronic for someone who has “the peace that passes all understanding” to be so stressed out about a lost Bible…but I am. I love my Bible and it’s driving me crazy that I don’t have it. I dug up an old Bible from grade school, but hopefully my current Bible will be returned soon…

God is good

All that aside, I was watching Obama’s speech from this morning’s prayer at the White House and it gave me some perspective (this was before I got even more stressed after realizing where I left my Bible). Check it out here: Obama’s speech. God used him to remind me that my daily “burdens” are nothing compared to what Christ went through…and He went through it anyway. For me. His death and resurrection gives me hope and a future. Gives me the faith to trust Him. Gives me the ability to dismiss the stress of life and embrace the cross of Christ. Because He died and rose, I can live in the aftermath of His triumph. When Satan knocks me down, I can get back up. Not because I’m tough. Not because I’m a fighter. I can get back up because I serve a risen Lord who has conquered sin and death for me.

God is good

What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?…In all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.” [Rom. 8:31, 37]

 God is good

And in God’s sovereignty, I had watched this video early today and decided then to include it in my evening post. He knew that I would need to hear this message again at the end of the day! In fact, I need this message every single moment of my life!

God is good

“That God in eternity looked upon me, foreseeing my fallenness, my pride, my sin…and said ‘I want that man in my family. I will do anything to get that man in my family. I will pay for him to be in my family with my Son’s life.’ That is love, folks. That is mega, off-the-charts love.”

God is good

“God knew you were going to be messy. Christ knew that you were going to be messy. God knows that you’re going to screw up often. He knows that you’re going to be drawn to things that are wicked. That’s what the cross is all about…the whole point of the cross is that you’re going to fail, you’re going to stumble, you’re going to feel dirty, you’re going to feel awkward. The whole point of the cross of Christ is there be this mighty picture of His love and pursuit of you despite you. So, the cross is necessary because of you. But it’s also the picture we have of just how far God is willing to go because He loves you.”

God is good

God’s grace in my life today:

He knew what I needed and sent Jesus to be my Savior.

He knows what I need and gives me more of Himself every day.

The God of the universe is personally invested and involved in my life and allows me to be part of His plan.

Amazing.

Leave a Reply

