Posted in Uncategorized

Piper on Memorizing

I’m trying to memorize a verse a day. Today’s verse was one I mentioned a couple posts ago:

“Let us acknowledge the Lord;
let us press on to acknowledge Him.
As surely as the sun rises, He will appear.
He will come to us like the winter rains,
like the spring rains that water the earth.”

-Hosea 6:3

I encourage you to start memorizing Scripture on a consistent basis, if you aren’t already doing so. For me, I usually have a bunch of verses in my head and can direct you to the general area of where it is in the Bible, but I struggle with knowing specific references. So working on making those references stick as I memorize! There are tons of reasons to memorize Scripture, and John Piper summarizes some of those reasons very well. I strongly encourage you to watch, listen, and start memorizing!

“I know of no other single practice in the Christian life more rewarding, practically speaking, than memorizing Scripture. . . . No other single exercise pays greater spiritual dividends! Your prayer life will be strengthened. Your witnessing will be sharper and much more effective. Your attitudes and outlook will begin to change. Your mind will become alert and observant. Your confidence and assurance will be enhanced. Your faith will be solidified.” 

Chuck Swindoll (Growing Strong in the Seasons of Life, pg. 61). 

great quote!

My apologies, but these blog posts are going to be pretty short for the next couple of weeks b/c I’m really busy studying! If you think of it, I’d really appreciate your prayers regarding my upcoming MCAT! Thank you, friends 🙂 Keep seeing God’s grace in your daily life!

start memorizing

God’s grace in my life today:

A prayer request was answered right in front of my eyes 🙂

Leave a Reply

