Posted in Uncategorized

Live Your Life

Life is short.

Life is beautiful.

Every day I think about the fact that I don’t know how much longer I’ll be here…how much longer I’ll be reading the Word of God until I see my Jesus face-to-face. But I do know that I’m here for a reason. And I want to “live each day to the hilt,” as Jim Elliot would say. I want to enjoy all the beauty of this world, knowing that it’s only a glimpse of the beauty to come. I want to pour out all the love in me because I know that I only have so much time to do that down here. I want to give my all for Him in this life, exhausting myself daily so I can be renewed by Him daily. I want to admit my weaknesses and watch Him display His strength. I want to marvel at the grace He shows me every single day. I want to embrace the joy, the hurt, the pain, the longings, the fear, the doubt, the raw emotions because it’s a sign that I’m alive. I want to stay childlike in the way I view the world…amazed and excited about the little things my Heavenly Father does for me every day. I want to represent Jesus well now so I can later hear the words: “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”

Life is short.

Life is beautiful.

Don’t waste it.

it is.

“When it’s over, I want to say: all my life 
I was a bride married to amazement
I was the bridegroom, taking the world into my arms

When it is over, I don’t want to wonder 
if I have made of my life something particular, and real
I don’t want to find myself sighing and frightened, 
or full of argument. 

I don’t want to end up simply having visited this world.” 

-Mary Oliver

love that

“It was becoming clearer and clearer that if I wanted to come to the end of my life and not say, “I’ve wasted it!” then I would need to press all the way in, and all the way up, to the ultimate purpose of God and join Him in it. If my life was to have a single, all-satisfying, unifying passion, it would have to be God’s passion.” 

-John Piper, Don’t Waste Your Life

give me a passion for You, God

“When the time comes to die, make sure that all you have to do is die!”

-Jim Elliot

I want to die exhausted.

“But whatever you do, find the God-centered, Christ-exalting, Bible-saturated passion of your life, and find your way to say it and live for it and die for it. And you will make a difference that lasts. You will not waste your life.” 

-John Piper, Don’t Waste Your Life

don’t waste your life

God’s grace in my life today:

I played my piano and sang today…music is such a gift from Him.

I’m learning a little more each day about how I can use my passions to glorify my Father..so exciting!

Oh, yeah…and spring break has begun!


One thought on “Live Your Life

  1. Can you play for me next time I see you? I always appreciate hearing beautiful music on the piano, it is such a majestic sound to behold…and never tire of finding joy in little things in life because in the end, they often turn out to be the big things. I’m glad you share alot of the same sentiments as me and I’m glad that I can keep up on your life through daily thoughts my friend =)

Leave a Reply

