Posted in Uncategorized

Traits to Emulate

Traits to Emulate:

yay

My dad’s wisdom and faith

He doesn’t talk much, but what he says has great value. 

As Shakespeare eloquently said: “Men of few words are the best men.

By that definition (and pretty much any definition), my dad is one of the “best men.” 🙂 He chooses his words wisely, and people listen when he speaks. So many people admire him. When we were younger, my brother and I would laugh about how many people were always wanting to talk to our dad–he could sit in one spot at church without moving and yet end up talking to 10 different people because they’d keep coming to him! As I’ve grown slightly wiser, I’ve seen that people are drawn to him because of his wisdom and integrity. God has definitely generously given my dad wisdom.

He doesn’t have to read loads of theological books to understand the theology of faith: he lives out his faith every day. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard him say the words “Let’s pray.” My dad really truly believes with everything in him that God listens when we pray. Every morning for as long as I can remember, if I wake up early enough, I’ll see my dad on his knees talking to God before he starts the day. He doesn’t pray as a ritual or to be a good person. He prays because he loves talking to his Heavenly Father. Just like a little kid constantly wants to talk to his daddy or about his daddy, my dad constantly wants to talk to his Father or about his Father. Sometimes he’ll tell the same stories of God’s faithfulness or quote the same verses over and over again because they mean that much to him. My dad’s not perfect, but I couldn’t have asked for a better father. I’m so thankful to have a dad who loves God first, loves my mom second, and loves his kids third. So few men have those priorities these days. It is the grace of God that has allowed me to grow up with a father like him.

***

My mom’s hospitality and sacrifice

I don’t know anyone else who gives as much of her time, energy, and love to others.

She’s quick to cook food for families when she sees a need, house guests whether she knows them well or not, help a friend even if they’ve never helped her and never will, and so on and so on.

She’s spent the last 21 years pouring out love on me (and the last 18 years on my brother too). And let me tell you, that in itself makes my mom a saint! She’s constantly encouraging me, loving me enough to point out my wrongs and correct me, expecting my best, believing I’m capable of doing anything I set my mind to, and reminding me of God’s faithfulness.

My mom has made so many sacrifices in her life. “The cost of discipleship” is real to her, not just empty words on a page. She had to give up so much to follow Him. But she will tell you that it was worth it: Jesus is worth it. She diligently studies her Bible daily and spends so much time praying for her family and for others. Very rarely do I ever hear her pray for herself, except for asking the Lord to make her more like Him. She puts the needs of her family before herself. She sacrifices her needs for the needs of others. Just a small example: last week, I was sick. Mom took care of me even though she wasn’t feeling the best either. Towards the end of the week, I was fine but she and dad had gotten sick. Mom cared for dad even though it would have been easier to stay in bed herself. Then we had house guests. Mom cooked, cleaned, and conversed even though she wasn’t feeling well. She also made a meal for a couple from church and dropped it off. She did all that stuff even though she wasn’t feeling well through any of it. People always talk about how love isn’t just a feeling: it’s an action. My mom is the perfect example of that. 

I’m so blessed to have that man and woman as my parents.

I’m so blessed to be their daughter.

I love you, Dad and Mom 🙂

“Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction 
   and do not forsake your mother’s teaching. 
They will be a garland to grace your head 
   and a chain to adorn your neck.”

-Proverbs 1:8-9

i really do.

God’s grace in my life today:

He watched over my mom today even though she was really sick and protected her. He truly is the Good Shepherd.

Leave a Reply

