Posted in Uncategorized

Shhhhh…

Houston (my puppy and best friend, in case you haven’t read the About section yet ;)) made me think today. He was being mischievous and running around between all of our rooms attempting to eat everything in sight. My parents and I were all trying to get work done, but we kept getting interrupted by hearing Houston use his paws/mouth to pull something down (actually as I type this, he just dropped something…) and then proceed to munch on it. We had to pull erasers from him, paper, hair ties, plastic, and any other random object he found desirable. At one point, my dad said “Houston, why do you keep eating all this stuff when you have 3 bones right in front of you?!” Being the analyzer that I am, an obvious analogy came to mind. C.S. Lewis says it beautifully:

“If we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered to us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

I’m so easily distracted. I’m surrounded by noise and I usually enjoy it. I told my small group tonight that I like working in a noisy environment. But the times that I’ve pulled away from the noise to be alone in the presence of God have been some of the most intimate moments in my relationship with Him.

In fact, one of my favorite places to pray is at the park. I’ve only gone a few times, but I climb inside one of the enclosed slides and just sit there reading my Bible, praying, and journaling. It’s one of the most peaceful places to me. I can listen clearly without needing to strain to hear Him through the other noises. I can read His Word without distraction. Granted, I probably look like a weirdo since college students don’t usually sit in slides at playgrounds…but whatever 🙂

Yes, He can absolutely speak in an audible voice, in a loud shout. But often He speaks in the quiet moments. Check out 1 Samuel 3 or 1 Kings 19:11-15 for examples.

In the midst of all the busyness, all the distractions offered to us, all the work to be done, all the studying to finish, all the TV shows to catch up on, all the books and articles to read, all the friends to catch up with…I am often too easily distracted. I’m too easily satisfied. I’m too easily pleased. 

And that’s ridiculous, when infinite joy is on the table. 

So, I’m setting apart time this week to be alone and completely quiet in His presence. More than just the usual morning/evening devotions. No music, no people, no distractions. Just my God, His Word, and me. And no talking on my part. I do enough talking. I’m excited to hear from Him and be truly satisfied 🙂

shhh…

God’s grace in my life today:

He sovereignly allowed my Physics class to be canceled!! I’ve been sick and really didn’t feel well today. I wanted to ditch lecture so badly, especially after a long 8am lab. But I knew I should go…and then I found out my prof had canceled!

A similar thing happened last year too, actually around the same time! It was a few weeks before I was leaving for my mission trip in Brazil. I was pretty sick and desperately wanted to take the next day off to rest and sleep, but I knew that I couldn’t afford to miss a day of class since I was going to be missing a whole week for the trip. Then, that afternoon I found out that my classes were canceled for the next day b/c there was supposed to be a big blizzard…and everyone in this area ended up spending a couple days holed up at home because a HUGE blizzard hit! 

I’m not saying God allowed that blizzard just so I could have time to get better…I’m just giving yet another example of His sovereignty in my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

