Posted in Uncategorized

All I have is Christ


“All I Have is Christ”

I once was lost in darkest night
Yet thought I knew the way.
The sin that promised joy and life
Had led me to the grave.
I had no hope that You would own
A rebel to Your will.
And if You had not loved me first
I would refuse You still.

But as I ran my hell-bound race
Indifferent to the cost
You looked upon my helpless state
And led me to the cross.
And I beheld God’s love displayed
You suffered in my place
You bore the wrath reserved for me
Now all I know is grace.

Hallelujah! All I have is Christ
Hallelujah! Jesus is my life

Now, Lord, I would be Yours alone
And live so all might see
The strength to follow Your commands
Could never come from me.
Oh Father, use my ransomed life
In any way You choose.
And let my song forever be
My only boast is You.

© 2008 Sovereign Grace Praise (BMI), by Jordan Kauflin

all i have is Christ!

I’ve been reminded over and over again that all I have is Christ. Psalm 73 has been one of my favorite passages for as long as I can remember. I especially love verses 25-26:

“Whom have I in heaven but you? 
   And earth has nothing I desire besides You
My flesh and my heart may fail, 
   but God is the strength of my heart 
   and my portion forever.”

God is my portion. He is sufficient. He is satisfying. He is abundant. He is good. He is perfect. He is wonderful. He is beautiful. He is more than I could have ever asked for or hoped to receive.

Who am I that I get to enjoy God? Seriously, how amazing is that? Sometimes I get a little frustrated when I hear people talking (or catch myself slipping into a similar mindset) about how they’d be happy “if only…” happened.

If only I had a boyfriend/girlfriend.

If only I was married

If only I’d grown up in a loving home

If only I hadn’t made those mistakes

If only I was smarter

If only I was more attractive

If only I was more popular

If only I made more money

If only. If only. If only.

if only.

Would I have ever been bold enough to even utter the words, “If only God would somehow love me enough to send His Son to die on my behalf and pay the penalty for my sin…“?

Would I have even seen my desperate need for Jesus?

The greatest “if only” became “it is finished.”

And suddenly all of the others don’t matter.

I don’t need anything else.

All I have is Christ.

Hallelujah.

 and He’s all i need

You can never learn that Christ is all you need until Christ is all you have.
-Corrie ten Boom 

so true.

God’s grace in my life today:

He’s lovingly proving to me over and over that all I need is Him and showing me the joy that comes with knowing Him.

One thought on “All I have is Christ

Leave a comment