Posted in Uncategorized

All I Can Say

“There is nothing–no circumstance, no trouble, no testing–that can ever touch me until, first of all, it has gone past God and past Christ right through to me.  If it has come that far, it has come with a great purpose, which I may not understand at the moment.  But as I refuse to become panicky, as I lift up my eyes to Him and accept it as coming from the throne of God for some great purpose of blessing to my own heart, no sorrow will ever disturb me, no circumstance will cause me to fret, for I shall rest in the joy of what my Lord is–that is the rest of victory!”

-Alan Redpath

Today was rough. But God is good. Everything that happened today went through Him first. 

You are sovereign, Lord

In the familiar story of Jesus’ first miracle (turning water into wine at the wedding in Cana), Mary stands out to me. 

“When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, ‘They have no more wine.

   ‘Dear woman, why do you involve me?’ Jesus replied. ‘My time has not yet come.’

 His mother said to the servants, ‘Do whatever he tells you.'” -John 2:3-5

Mary simply went to Jesus and said “They have no more wine.” I love that. She saw the problem and instantly presented it to Jesus. She didn’t run around telling a bunch of people and then telling Him. She didn’t waste time worrying about it. She didn’t try to come up with a solution to fix it by herself. She took her problem straight to Jesus and left it in His hands. According to the text, she didn’t even ask Him to make more wine. She allowed Him to deal with the problem on His own. When Jesus told her His time hadn’t come yet, she simply told the servants to do whatever He tells them. 

I’m in a situation where I don’t even know where to begin with the solution. As a planner, that’s a tough place to be. As a Christian, that’s a great place to be: total dependence on the Lord. I got away for a few minutes tonight and presented my problem to Him. I didn’t offer any solution (b/c I honestly can’t think of one). I simply brought it before my Heavenly Father. And I’m prepared to do whatever He tells me. 

There’s so much freedom in admitting you’re tired. Admitting you have nothing left to say. Giving Him room to show His strength, to provide comfort, to grant wisdom, to supply needs, to fulfill longings, to display love, to give rest. And that’s where I’m at right now…I’ve got nothing left.

I’ve been slightly obsessed with this song…it’s like David Crowder got inside my mind and wrote a beautiful song based on my messy thoughts. Click on the title to listen to it if you’re interested!

All I Can Say

Lord, I’m tired

So tired from walking

And Lord, I’m so alone

And Lord, the dark

Is creeping in

Creeping up

To swallow me

I think I’ll stop

Rest here a while

And didn’t You see me crying?

And didn’t You hear me call Your name?

Wasn’t it You I gave my heart to?

I wish You’d remember

Where You sat it down

Chorus:

And this is all that I can say right now

I know it’s not much

And this is all that I can give

Yeah, that’s my everything

Bridge:

I didn’t notice You were standing here

I didn’t know that

That was You holding me

I didn’t notice You were crying too

I didn’t know that

That was You washing my feet

thank You, Lord

God’s grace in my life today:

He knows my heart: even when I can’t say the words, He knows.

He knows my hurts, pains, joys, triumphs and He answers me when I call. 

“I love the Lord, for He heard my voice; He heard my cry for mercy. Because He turned His ear to me, I will call on Him as long as I live…How can I repay the Lord for all His goodness to me?” -Psalm 116:1-2, 12

“I was pushed back and about to fall, but the Lord helped me. The Lord is my strength and my song; He has become my salvation.” -Psalm 118:13-14

Leave a Reply

