Posted in Uncategorized

Desperate for grace

Today was one of those days that I was very much aware of my need for God’s grace. As I was thinking about what to write tonight, all the things I did wrong today came to my mind. The mistakes I made, the bad attitudes I allowed, the discontentment I nurtured, the thoughtless words I spoke, the doubt I felt…all of that in a single day. I need grace. I need grace. I need grace. I need grace. I so desperately need the grace of God. 

I am not what I ought to be — ah, how imperfect and deficient! I am not what I wish to be — I abhor what is evil, and I would cleave to what is good! I am not what I hope to be — soon, soon shall I put off mortality, and with mortality all sin and imperfection. Yet, though I am not what I ought to be, nor what I wish to be, nor what I hope to be, I can truly say, I am not what I once was; a slave to sin and Satan; and I can heartily join with the apostle, and acknowledge, “By the grace of God I am what I am.” -John Newton

Amen. One of my favorite quotes ever.

Your worst days are never so bad that you are beyond the reach of God’s grace. And your best days are never so good that you are beyond the need of God’s grace. -Jerry Bridges

Today I was solidly in the former category. I’m so thankful that God is greater than my failures and His grace reaches farther than I can imagine.

I see clearly now that anything, whatever it is, if it be not on the principle of grace, it is not of God. Here shall be my plea in weakness; here shall be my boldness in prayer; here shall be my deliverance in temptation; at last, here shall be my translation. Not of grace? Then not of God. And here, O Lord Most High, shall be your glory and the honor of your Son. And the awakening for which I have asked–it shall come in your time, on this principle, by grace, through faith. Perfect my faith, then, Lord, that I may learn to trust only in divine grace, that They work of holiness might soon begin…. -Jim Elliot

My plea in weakness: grace. My boldness in prayer: grace. My deliverance in temptation: grace. 

God will not turn away from doing you good. He will keep on doing good. He doesn’t do good to His children sometimes and bad to them other times. He keeps on doing good and He never will stop doing good for ten thousand ages of ages. When things are going bad that does not mean God has stopped doing good. It means He is shifting things around to get them in place for more good, if you will go on loving Him. –John Piper

This last one doesn’t mention “grace” in it, but it’s a good reminder that I needed tonight. And in reality, it is about grace: what a gracious God to “keep on doing good.” We don’t deserve Him, we can’t earn Him. I don’t deserve Him, I can’t earn Him. I get the gift of a personal, real relationship with the God of all creation because of His grace in sending Jesus to pay my debt. Not only was my debt paid at the cross, but God continues to do good to me. I don’t deserve it. Even when I don’t see the good in front of me, I can trust that He’s at work. I love Him. He is so good to me.

Thank You, Lord

God’s grace in my life today:

He loves me on my bad days. My mistakes and failures from today were paid for at the cross.

I’m forgiven: His mercies are new every morning. Tomorrow is a new day to live for Him.

Leave a Reply

