Posted in Uncategorized

Panera Blessings

Earlier this week I was reading in John 4 and came to verse 34: 

“My food,” said Jesus, “is to do the will of Him who sent me and to finish His work.”

If you can see from the blurry picture of my Bible that I just took with my cell phone, I had written a little bit on the top margins. If you can’t read it, here’s the first part of what I had written:

food–> energizes, satisfies, brings pleasure

(vs. 34)–> I want to echo Jesus’ words

God is so good. I was studying at Panera and happened to run into someone from school. We had that “I think maybe we know each other because you look vaguely familiar?” moment and realized we’re in a class together. Long story short, the Lord was so good to me tonight (as always) and interrupted my MCAT studying to give me the chance to tell my story of how Jesus has radically changed my life.

I had yet another opportunity to experience firsthand the energy, satisfaction, and pleasure that comes from doing the will of my God by sharing the gospel and testifying to His grace. As you can see from my Bible, I had the desire to be filled with the same food as Jesus. On top of that, since one of the sessions at the Passion conference, I’ve been desiring a life “continually interrupted and inconvenienced for Your glory and justice” (that’s what I wrote in my notes from Christine Caine‘s talk). 

My wonderful Lord took my desires and made them reality.

“And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it” (John 14:13-14).

My God keeps His promises: if it will bring Him glory, He will do it. 

And He did. 

He is so faithful

God’s grace in my life today:

He divinely orchestrated an interruption to my MCAT prep so I could “testify to the gospel of God’s grace” (Acts 20:24) and truly echo the words of Jesus (John 4:34).


Leave a Reply

