Posted in Uncategorized

Man in the Mirror

I saw a movie last night that had a scene with a choir singing “Man in the Mirror” so that song has been stuck in my head. I listened to Michael Jackson’s original version a couple of times today. Here are the chorus lyrics:

I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you wanna make the world a better place
Take a look at yourself and then make a change, yey
Na na na, na na na, na na na na oh ho

First of all, I hope you sang along to the chorus, especially at the end (b/c everyone can sing “na na na, na na na”). 

As I was listening to MJ (Michael Jackson, not Michael Jordan) sing, I could hear the passion/agony in his voice. Say what you want about him, but judging from the way he sounds in this song, he seemed to really believe what he was singing. 

And I’m so thankful I don’t have to believe that.

Let me explain. If the way to make the world a better place starts with me changing myself, there’s a problem. I could have never changed myself. If it was as simple as making a few lifestyle changes (which in reality, often isn’t that simple either), then maybe this world would have a shot at being better. But that’s not the case. 

I was dead.

I wasn’t slightly messed up, I wasn’t a good person who makes mistakes, I wasn’t in need of a self-help book. I was dead.

“But because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions – it is by grace you have been saved” (Eph. 2:4-5).

Dead people can’t change themselves.

I was radically saved by radical grace. The beautiful, relentless, powerful grace of God made this previously dead girl come alive. I was dead, but now I am alive in Christ (Rom. 6:11). I’m not just changed: I am a new creation (2 Cor. 5:17). 

“The gospel doesn’t make bad people good; it makes dead people alive.”
-Tullian Tchividjian

God’s grace in my life today:

Being reminded that I was dead and now I’m ALIVE in Christ. 

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”

Leave a Reply

