Posted in Uncategorized

A blog (and baby) is born.

I saw my first live birth today. So, I decided to start a blog.

Can I just say, that was the most amazing thing ever. I know we’ve all heard about the miracle of life and so on…

But seriously, being in a room with a few people and literally watching another human being enter the world has got to be one of the most incredible experiences ever.

It’s one thing to read about it in textbooks, study all the intricate details for a test, watch documentaries in bio class….and a totally different thing to see it happen right in front of you. As I left, I just started praying for this unnamed little baby girl (her parents hadn’t known whether they were having a boy or girl until the moment of truth…and from their conversation, it sounded like they weren’t expecting a girl! Meaning, the sweet darling was nameless when I left) and thinking about how crazy  (get used to reading that word often…I tend to use it a LOT) it is that I got to see someone enter the world. I had never met the parents until I walked in that room during one of their most memorable moments. We’ll probably never meet again, but I was there when their daughter entered the world. And they were there when I saw my first delivery…which led to the start of this blog (yes, I’m well aware that the “birth” of this blog is nowhere near as meaningful or important as the birth of a baby).

I’m not really sure what this blog will look like (sort of a shocker if you knew how much of a planner I am), but I figured blogging is the cool thing to do, so I’m joining the scene. Just kidding (mostly) about that last part. Actually, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how evident the hand of God is on my life. I’ve given my testimony a couple times in the past few weeks and I’ve been made more aware of that fact. My life is marked by grace. Acts 20:24 is one of my “life verses” and has been on my dresser mirror for a long time:

However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the gospel of God’s grace.

I guess one of the reasons I started this blog is so people can read about God’s grace in my life as it overflows daily, rather than hearing about it only when I share my testimony. God’s grace is evident in my life every single day. Sometimes I don’t even notice it at the time because I’m not looking for it.

That brings me to another reason for this blog: I’ll do my very best to list at least one evidence of God’s grace in my life every day. Even if no one else reads this, at least it will serve the purpose of creating a grateful attitude in me as I see His grace on display daily.

Last reason for writing this blog: I’m often MIA because I’m so busy with school and work. I’m also all over the place: I often say that my mind is like an ant farm with all the craziness. I have about 50 different plans for my life that all seem totally doable and I alternate between plans like my dog Houston alternates between bones (be prepared for lots of references to my best friend Hou-baby)…which is VERY often. One week I’m ready to drop out of school and move to some remote island somewhere. The next week I’m ready to buckle down for the long road to be a doctor. Then I decide to teach…or be a social worker…or become a lawyer to fight against abortion…or get actively involved in shutting down human trafficking…or start a band and travel the world. I’m passionate about a lot of different issues, and sometimes that makes me seem like I’m all over the place. I don’t know what God has in store for me, but I’m ready for the adventure. And you’re welcome to join me on this journey. So for those who care, this blog will be a good way to keep up with what’s going on in my life–in case I spontaneously move to Africa…or Asia…or Europe…or become a doctor…or start a band…you get the idea 🙂

God’s grace in my life today:

Having one of my birthday wishes come true early and unexpectedly

(that would be seeing my first live delivery for you folks who haven’t heard me babbling the past few months about how badly I want to see a baby being born) 🙂

Until!

Rosh

5 thoughts on “A blog (and baby) is born.

  1. Great blog and we are so thankful that God gave you the desire of your heart and granted you your birthday wish. Love you and so thankful for you. Dad & Mom

  2. I came to your blog from Jon Acuff’s site. He has created a tremendous forum for sharing our blogs and impacting more people with them.

    I hope my blog can be an encouragement to you also.

    I write it for encouragement and motivation daily.

    http://i-never-fail.blogspot.com

    Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to watching the connections grow!

Leave a Reply

